Spieth, McIlroy, Pros React to Dustin Johnson Putting Controversy
OAKMONT, Pa. -- When Dustin Johnson's ball moved on the 5th green during his final round of the U.S. Open, he stopped and made sure he interpreted the ruling correctly.
More than an hour later, the USGA informed Johnson it was unsure if he should be penalized a stroke under the idea that he had forced the ball to move. The USGA notified Johnson that the action on the 5th green would be reviewed and ruled upon at the end of his round.
Naturally, this move by the USGA garnered plenty of attention, specifically from PGA Tour players. Rory McIlroy was one of the first to sound off, followed by many others, including former U.S. Open champions Jordan Spieth and Webb Simpson.
This is ridiculous... No penalty whatsoever for DJ. Let the guy play without this crap in his head. Amateur hour from @USGA— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
This isn't right for anyone on that golf course. If it was me I wouldn't hit another shot until this farce was rectified.— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
No way DJ gets a penalty. Use some common sense @usga The greens are running 14 and are sloppier than Mount Everest— Luke Donald (@LukeDonald) June 19, 2016
That rule HAS TO change @USGA, PLEASE!— Webb Simpson (@webbsimpson1) June 19, 2016
Lemme get this straight.. DJ doesn't address it. It's ruled that he didn't cause it to move. Now you tell him he may have? Now? This a joke?— Jordan Spieth (@JordanSpieth) June 19, 2016
Hey @USGA u mad???— Justin Thomas (@JustinThomas34) June 19, 2016
that's absolutely ridiculous they would bring up to DJ the possibility of penalizing him after the round in the middle of his round— Bud Cauley (@BudCauley) June 19, 2016
Wow @USGA wow.— Keegan Bradley (@Keegan_Bradley) June 19, 2016
These are the guys who make our rules? #scary— Keegan Bradley (@Keegan_Bradley) June 19, 2016
This entire thing with DJ is absolutely unreal. Hope he wins by 8.— Zac Blair (@z_blair) June 19, 2016
USGA " is there some other reason that the ball moved". Yep..gravity. #itkeepsusonearth— Greg Chalmers (@GregChalmersPGA) June 19, 2016
What is the @USGA ?— Daniel Berger (@DanielBerger59) June 19, 2016
What is the USGA up to? Are they trying to say DJ is lying about what happened and now they think he should be hit with penalty. Not funny— Stuart Appleby (@StuartAppleby) June 19, 2016
The @USGA are creating an incredibly anti-climatic scenario here during what should be an incredibly dramatic back nine on Sunday. Sort it.— Graeme McDowell (@Graeme_McDowell) June 19, 2016
So you're gonna tell a guy w/o a major that's leading that he may not be leading after one of your white hairs already cleared him @USGA?!?— John Peterson (@JohnPetersonLSU) June 19, 2016
This is a perfect example of the rules doing disservice to the game. DJ didn't do anything to gain advantage. Shouldn't even be a discussion— Roberto Castro (@cicioCASTRO) June 19, 2016