How did Beef pull this shot off?
@PGATour Twitter screenshot
By Josh Berhow
Thursday, July 28, 2016

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. -- We just can't get enough of Andrew "Beef" Johnston, and this shot is definitely worth another look.

Playing the par-4 15th during the first round of the PGA Championship at Baltusrol, Beef pulled his approach shot to the left of the green and was 59 yards away from the hole — oh, and behind a scoreboard.

But that didn't stop golf's newest cult hero from pulling off one of the shots of the day. Check out the video below to watch Beef go over — or through, you be the judge — the scoreboard and put it to six feet from the pin, then give high-fives and a thumbs up to the roaring crowd. Too bad he missed the putt and made bogey, but finished with an even-par 70.

After the round, Beef explained the interesting decision and the confusing rule that caused him to go over the scoreboard: "I got over there and I was talking to the ref. I got a bit confused with the rule basically. He was saying you can't get a drop – I'm going to get this wrong anyway – you can't get a drop away from where the scoreboards if it's not in line with the flag. But I said, I want to chip it under the tree. That was my honest thing was I wanted to chip it left of the bunker and get on the green, take two putts and get off.

"So he goes, You can get a drop about a club length and that's it. I was saying, But it's still in my way. Then he goes, It's got to be in line with the flag and line of sight. It's got to be both of them. I just went, Okay, I'll just chip it over the scoreboard. I have no choice. All right, let's just get on with it."

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN