Tiger Woods says he wouldn't call in rules violations
It's been nearly a month since Tiger Woods's rules controversy at Augusta National, but it was still a hot topic Tuesday at the Players Championship.
Woods, making his first start since finishing T4 at the Masters, said he could never see himself calling in a rules violation.
"I don't ever see myself calling in and saying that Kobe traveled, or things like that, or some guy held ‑‑ an offensive lineman held, but it's our sport, and that's what we've done and we've accepted," Woods said. "Certain groups are going to get more heat than others just because they're on TV. It is what it is."
Woods was also suprised that his penalty was still being debated weeks after it happened.
"Yeah, actually I am, because I think Fred [Ridley, Augusta National's tournament competition committee chairman] explained it pretty well," Woods said. "For some reason evidently that wasn't accepted."
Woods also admitted it took about a week to get over his disappointing finish in the year's first major.
"When I was away from it, I was reflecting on ‑‑ obviously the things that I did right, but also the things that I did wrong that week," Woods said. "And unfortunately I hit a good shot and got a bad break. But I still had an opportunity over the next 36 holes to get it back, and I sort of had my opportunities to do it and I just didn't do it." Woods tees off Thursday at 1:49 p.m. ET with Brandt Snedeker and Matt Kuchar. Related Gallery: Tiger's Life in Pictures Related Story: Tiger Woods and Lindsey Vonn attend Met Gala (Photo: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)