Tiger Woods hit with 2-stroke penalty at the Masters for illegal drop, no DQ

Saturday April 13th, 2013

P1-TIger-Drop  
 
AUGUSTA,
Ga. — Tiger Woods was hit with a two-shot penalty Saturday morning for an illegal drop that he took on the 15th hole Friday, but finds himself at the center of a rules storm and faces calls to withdraw from an event he has won four times.
The
drop under question [pictured above] occurred after Woods’s approach shot to the par-5 struck the
flagstick and rolled back into the water. Woods chose not to drop in what he described as the "wet" and "muddy" drop zone, which left him with two other options under the Rules of
Golf:  

1.
Play [the] ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball
was last played; or
2. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original
ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and
the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the
water hazard the ball may be dropped. 
Woods
chose the first option, but admitted that he did not to drop as close as possible to the
original spot.
“So
I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back and I
took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit,” Woods said
after his round.
The
ensuing shot “worked out perfectly," Woods said.
The Masters rules committe cited a relatively new rule (brought in to deal with cases where viewers call in after the fact to report violations seen on TV) that allows the tournament to waive a penalty of disqualification in exceptional circumstances. They then released a statement that in essence placed the onus on the rules committee for not alerting Woods of his violation before he signed his scorecard. The statement says:

After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rules 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.


UPDATE: Tiger Woods has responded to the incident via Twitter. Read his response below.

RELATED: Tiger's Major Victories RELATED: Infamous Rules Violations  (Photo: John W. McDonough /Sports Illustrated)
 

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN