By petedirenzo
Monday, March 29, 2010

Wie-and-rules-official Michelle Wie was penalized on Sunday for grounding her club after failing to get a shot from the water clear of the hazard. In the replay, she appears stable when she puts the club down in the grass inside the red line. After her round, Wie argued that she grounded her club to balance herself, which would have been legal, but the rules officials did not buy her argument. Golf Channel broadcast the scene from the TV truck, where Wie stated her case. "I know that I felt off balance, and it's like I know that I grounded the club, but ..." she said, trailing off. "I have nothing more to appeal, it's just that it doesn't seem fair."Later, Wie restated her argument when the Golf Channel asked if it was being told what she felt that bothered her."It wasn't the fact that I knew I was going to get a two-stroke penalty, and I was thinking in my head, what can I do to cheat my way out of it," she said. "It was more the fact that I knew I grounded the club due to the fact that my right foot was in mud, and I felt like I was off-balance. It was more the feeling that it didn't feel right that they said that it seemed like I wasn't off-balance when I knew I was off-balance."You can see the shot, and hear Wie's argument, in Golf Channel's video replay and wrap-up. What's your take? Was she legitimately trying to keep her balance? Let us know in the comments field below.Photo: Wie stated her case to a rules official during Sunday's round. (Robert Beck/SI)

You May Like