For Simon Dyson, disqualification may not be enough.
The English pro now faces a possible fine or suspension from the European Tour in the wake of an incident at the BMW Masters tournament in Shanghai last week, where he was DQ'd for apparently tampering with his putting line.
After marking his ball on the eighth green of Friday's second round, Dyson appeared to tamp down his line with his ball, smoothing out what looked to be a spike mark. As with so many headline rules violations of late, a TV viewer saw the incident and alerted tournament officials. Tampering with a line is forbidden under the Rules of Golf and carries a two-stroke penalty. Dyson was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.
At the time of the incident, the 35-year-old Dyson was in second place. The DQ not only cost him a paycheck. It also hurt his chances of qualifying for the European Tour's season finale in Dubai.
But even that punishment may not be enough. As reported in the Daily Telegraph, four members of the Tour's players' committee reviewed footage of the incident and were said to be "outraged." Tour officials now say they will review the matter and decide whether to convene a disciplinary panel.
In that case, Dyson would likely be called upon to recount his version of the events. And here's hoping he has a persuasive case, as such panels have been known to administer more than wrist slaps. Dyson could be fined, or, the Telegraph reported, even banned. (Photo: Eugene Hoshiko/AP) For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @si_golf on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.