Monday, September 23, 2013

181545906Tiger Woods is one of five nominees for the Player of the Year Award. (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images) The PGA Tour announced the nominees for the player and rookie of the year on Monday. 
The nominees for the Jack Nicklaus Award as the PGA Tour Player of the Year are Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Adam Scott, Henrik Stenson and Tiger Woods. Woods has won the award 10 times. 
The nominees for PGA Tour Rookie of the Year are Derek Ernst, Russell Henley, David Lingmerth and Jordan Spieth.
Woods finished second in the FedExCup, won five tournaments and was the tour's money leader. Stenson won the FedExCup with a wire-to-wire victory in the Tour Championship this past weekend and had eight top-10 finishes.  Kuchar won twice on tour this season and finished sixth in the FedExCup standings. 
Spieth, 20, is the overwhelming favorite to win rookie of the year honors, and was the only rookie to qualify for Tour Championship. He also had nine top-10 finishes, tied for most on tour. 
Voting for both awards will close on Thursday at 5 p.m. ET, and the winners will be announced Friday.   For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @si_golf on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.

You May Like