Wednesday, May 08, 2013

Tiger-DropGood thing Nick Faldo isn’t running for public office -- he just got caught in another flip-flop.
As the New York Daily News reported, Sir Nick’s latest wait-I-take-that-back moment took place during an NBC/Golf Channel conference call on Tuesday, when he was asked once more about the Drop.
“We were all on a level playing field before, very simple,” Faldo said. “You made a mistake on the scorecard, you were DQ’d,” he said. “Now it’s not level and it’s open again to a gray area.”
He was talking, of course, about the Tiger rules incident at Augusta National, and the Masters Competition Committee’s decision to slap Woods with a two-stroke penalty, rather than disqualify him from the competition.
The first time he spoke on the matter -- during a GolfChannel appearance shortly after the Committee announced its decision -- Faldo made similarly critical comments about the ruling, only to back track later that day when he came on air from the CBS broadcast booth.
His waffling prompted some to speculate that higher powers had asked him to recant.
Now, with the 2013 Masters nearly a month old, Faldo seems to have returned to his original position.
If you don’t like his stance, just wait a little. Maybe it will change again. (Photo: Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

You May Like