The Rules Guy on Camilo Villegas' DQ

It was a rough 29th birthday for Camilo Villegas, who was disqualified from the season-opening Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Maui after he made a mistake that was caught on television by some eagle-eyed fans (or anti-fans). On a happier note, it was the first major Rules violation of 2011, which means the Rules Guy is back on the job!
Here's the video that got Camilo in trouble:

By moving that divot, even ever-so-slightly, Villegas violated Rule 23-1, which explicitly states that:

When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed.
There's not much controversy on this one--the evidence speaks for itself and from all reports Camilo didn't put up any kind of a fight when he saw the footage.
The reason that Villegas presumably never noticed that he violated the Rule was because of how long it took his ball to come all the way back to the spot where he had already moved the divot. By that point, Villegas was probably thinking a lot more about snapping his wedge than Rule 23.
If Villegas had realized his mistake at the time, he would have only incurred a two-stroke penalty. By missing it and signing the wrong scorecard, the young Colombian got himself a DQ and a couple extra days off.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN