Dustin Johnson was assessed a one-shot penalty after his final round at the 2016 U.S. Open despite consulting with a rules official on the 5th hole after he noticed his ball move as he addressed it to putt.
2 of 13Getty Images
Tiger Woods, 2013 Masters
Tiger Woods' now infamous drop at the 2013 Masters might have cost him a shot at his 15th major title.
3 of 13John Biever/SI
After finishing the 72nd hole of the 2010 PGA at Whistling Straits, Dustin Johnson believed he had made it into a playoff. But Johnson had unknowingly played his second shot on 18 from a waste bunker and grounded his club. The ensuing two-stroke penalty knocked him out of the playoff.
4 of 13AP
At the 1925 U.S. Open, Bobby Jones moved his ball slightly while setting up for a shot. No one saw it, but Jones was adamant that the ball had moved and assessed himself a one-stroke penalty, costing him the win, as he went on to lose in a playoff. Praised for his classy move, Jones quipped, "You might as well praise me for not robbing banks."
5 of 13Phil Noble/AP
Ian Woosnam was in position to win in the final round of the 2001 British Open when his caddie Miles Byrne spoke up: "You're going to go ballistic," Byrne told him. "We've got two drivers in the bag." That meant Woosnam was carrying 15 clubs, a two-stroke penalty. He then flung the extra driver into the woods.
6 of 13Luis M. Alvarez/AP
After playing himself into contention at the 2003 British Open, Mark Roe was disqualified for not exchanging scorecards with playing partner Jesper Parnevik prior to the round. Parnevik, who was also disqualified, responded to the ruling saying, "It's the dumbest rule I have ever heard of."
7 of 13AP
Upon finishing his final round at the 1940 U.S. Open, 230-pound Ed "Porky" Oliver was in a three-way tie with Gene Sarazen and Lawson Little, but Oliver would not participate in the playoff. Oliver's threesome teed off a half hour earlier than their designated tee-time to preempt an impending rainstorm. Unknown to "Poor Porky," this was a violation of the rules, and he was disqualified.
(Photo: Runner-up Porky Oliver (right) with Bobby Jones (center) and champion Ben Hogan (left) at the 1953 Masters)
8 of 13Jacqueline Duvoisin/Sports Illustrated
On day two at the 1991 Doral Ryder Open, a TV viewer called in saying Paul Azinger had committed a rules violation the day before. When taking his stance on the edge of a water hazard, Zinger nudged a small rock, thereby moving a loose impediment in a hazard. Normally a two-stroke penalty, Azinger signed an incorrect scorecard, earning him a DQ.
9 of 13Luis M. Alvarez/AP
At the 2007 Honda Classic, Mark Wilson's caddie Chris Jones told a playing partner the loft of the club that Wilson had just used. In golf, no person other than his caddie is allowed to give a player advice. Wilson noticed his caddie's error, penalized himself two strokes, and went on to win anyway.
10 of 13Joan C. Fahrenthold/AP
On the 14th hole at Torrey Pines during the 1987 Andy Williams Open, Craig Stadler had a tough lie next to a tree, so he decided to hit the shot from his knees and placed a towel on the ground to kneel on. He was clearly in violation of the rules governing building a stance. After finishing in second place, he was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard. Stadler got some revenge in 1995, when Torrey Pines allowed him to cut down the offending tree.
11 of 13Lee Milner/State Farm Classic
Following the third round of the 2008 State Farm Classic, Michelle Wie sat one stroke off the lead. A good round on Sunday would produce her first professional victory. But it was not to be. After the round, a rules official approached Wie to tell her that she had failed to sign her second round scorecard, thereby disqualifying her from the tournament. Sue Witters, the LPGA's director of tournament competitions at the time who broke the news to Wie, said, "I felt like I was telling somebody that there was no Santa Claus."
12 of 13Robert Benson/WireImage.com
In her first tournament as a professional, Michelle Wie hooked her approach shot on the 7th hole of the third round into a bush. Wie took a drop and a one-stroke penalty for an unplayable lie and continued on through Sunday to finish in fourth place... or so she thought. SI writer Michael Bamberger witnessed the event and believed Wie had dropped the ball closer to the hole, which should have resulted in a two-stroke penalty. The rules officials agreed and Wie was disqualified.
13 of 13Neil Leifer/SI
The greatest of all rules mishaps occurred at the 1968 Masters. Upon finishing the final round apparently tied for the lead with Bob Goalby, Roberto De Vicenzo noticed his playing partner had given him a four on the par-4 17th hole, even though he had made a three. The Rules of Golf state that if a player signs a higher score than played, the signed score stands. Having already signed the card, De Vicenzo gained a stroke, missing the playoff by one. De Vicenzo responded to his disastrous error stating, "What a stupid I am."
You May Like
More Tours & News
Sign Up for Newsletters
Receive insider analysis, swing tips, equipment news, special offers and much more.