Weekly Rules Quiz: Missing the ball

Tuesday October 9th, 2007

You make a stroke at the ball on the tee box but completely whiff. You address the ball again but accidentally knock it off the tee. You should:

1. Count one stroke for your whiff and one penalty stroke for moving your ball while it was in play and replace it.
2. Take a penalty for missing your tee shot, but replace your ball without penalty for accidentally knocking it off the tee.
3. Count one stroke for your whiff and one penalty stroke for moving your ball and play it as it lies.

Go to the next page for the answer

You make a stroke at the ball on the tee box but completely whiff. You address the ball again but accidentally knock it off the tee. You should:

1. Count one stroke for your whiff and one penalty stroke for moving your ball while it was in play and replace it.
2. Take a penalty for missing your tee shot, but replace your ball without penalty for accidentally knocking it off the tee.
3. Count one stroke for your whiff and one penalty stroke for moving your ball and play it as it lies.

Answer: A. When you make a stroke at the ball, it is deemed to be in play, so Rule 11-3 regarding a ball falling off the tee no longer applies. When the ball moves after it is addressed, you incur a penalty stroke and must replace the ball (Rule 18-2b).

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN