By Rules Guy
Friday, August 03, 2007

You hit your tee shot deep into the woods, where it might be lost. You announce that you'll play a provisional and immediately hit before your playing partner. Your buddy says you should be penalized for playing out of turn. You should:

A. Take a 1-stroke penalty for not waiting for all other playing partners to hit before taking a provisional.

B. Take no penalty because you were not going out of order to give one player an advantage.

C. Take no penalty but replay your provisional in order.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You hit your tee shot deep into the woods, where it might be lost. You announce that you'll play a provisional and immediately hit before your playing partner. Your buddy says you should be penalized for playing out of turn. You should:

A. Take a 1-stroke penalty for not waiting for all other playing partners to hit before taking a provisional.

B. Take no penalty because you were not going out of order to give one player an advantage.

C. Take no penalty but replay your provisional in order.

ANSWER: B. When you play a provisional ball from the tee, you should do so after your fellow competitors have played their first strokes (Rule 10-3). But, your mistake is unimportant because it wasn't done to give one player an advantage (Rule 10-2c).

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN