Daily Rules Quiz: Out of bounds

Friday June 15th, 2007

You hit an iron shot from the fairway out of bounds. In taking your stroke-and-distance penalty, you drop your ball in the fairway but about a foot away from the divot hole you just made. You should:

A. Hit your shot without penalty because you dropped correctly.

B. Re-drop without penalty so your next shot is closer to the divot.

C. Take a 2-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop, re-drop closer to the divot and play from there.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You hit an iron shot from the fairway out of bounds. In taking your stroke-and-distance penalty, you drop your ball in the fairway but about a foot away from the divot hole you just made. You should:

A. Hit your shot without penalty because you dropped correctly.

B. Re-drop without penalty so your next shot is closer to the divot.

C. Take a 2-stroke penalty for taking an illegal drop, re-drop closer to the divot and play from there.

ANSWER: B. When you elect or are required to play your next stroke from where a previous stroke was played in an area through the green, you must drop your ball as near as possible to that spot (Rule 20-5). The divot marks the spot where the previous shot was taken, so you must try to drop the ball so it lands in the divot hole. Because dropping from shoulder height is often not precise, if the ball lands within a few inches of the divot without landing in it, that would be ruled a proper drop. If it lands farther, you clearly weren't aiming for the divot and must be penalized 2 strokes.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN