Daily Rules Quiz: Moving the tee marker

Friday June 22nd, 2007

You decide to tee up on the extreme left side of the teeing ground. You tee your ball up legally, but you pick up one of the tee markers and move it because it's in the way of your swing. After your shot you replace it, but your buddy cries foul. You should:

A. Take no penalty because you were still within the tee box and behind the other marker.

B. Take a 2-stroke penalty for moving the marker.

C. Take an official DQ for moving a immovable object set up by course officials.

Go to the next page for the answer.

You decide to tee up on the extreme left side of the teeing ground. You tee your ball up legally, but you pick up one of the tee markers and move it because it‚s in the way of your swing. After your shot you replace it, but your buddy cries foul. You should:

A. Take no penalty because you were still within the tee box and behind the other marker.

B. Take a 2-stroke penalty for moving the marker.

C. Take an official DQ for moving a immovable object set up by course officials.

ANSWER: B. Before you make your first stroke from the teeing ground of the hole being played, the tee markers are deemed to be fixed (Rule 11-2). If you move a marker to avoid interference with your stance, the area of your intended swing or your line of play, you're penalized two strokes.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN