By Rules Guy
Monday, July 30, 2007

Before you take a shot in a bunker, you notice a caterpillar crawling on your ball. Under the Rules, you can:

A. Remove the caterpillar with a tee or scorecard and replace the ball in its original spot if it moves.

B. Wave your hand or a towel at the caterpillar and hope that it moves away.

C. Remove the caterpillar with your fingers and play your ball to the green.

Go to the next page for the answer.

Before you take a shot in a bunker, you notice a caterpillar crawling on your ball. Under the Rules, you can:

A. Remove the caterpillar with a tee or scorecard and replace the ball in its original spot if it moves.

B. Wave your hand or a towel at the caterpillar and hope that it moves away.

C. Remove the caterpillar with your fingers and play your ball to the green.

ANSWER: B. An insect is considered a loose impediment, and under Rule 23, you can't touch loose impediments in a hazard if your ball is in the hazard too. If you pluck off the caterpillar using your hand, another object or your body, you're be penalized two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play. All you can do is encourage the insect to move without touching anything.

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN