By Rules Guy
Monday, July 02, 2007

When addressing your ball on the tee box, you accidentally nudge it, knocking it off the tee. You should:

A. Incur a 1-stroke penalty and play it as it lies.

B. Incur a 2-stroke penalty and re-tee.

C. Re-tee without penalty.

Go to the next page for the answer.

When addressing your ball on the tee box, you accidentally nudge it, knocking it off the tee. You should:

A. Incur a 1-stroke penalty and play it as it lies.

B. Incur a 2-stroke penalty and re-tee.

C. Re-tee without penalty.

ANSWER: C. Rule 11-3 clearly explains the ruling for this often encountered scenario: "If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed without penalty."

You May Like

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN