Ask the Rules Guy: Umbrella putting and the chip-n-run

Wednesday June 30th, 2010
Jason Raish

• Got a Rules question? Zip it to rulesguy@golf.com

DEAR RULES GUY: I was on the green and the rain was really starting to come down. So I decided to putt my ball with one hand on the putter while I held an umbrella with the other. My partner said I was cheating because I was blocking myself and my ball from the elements. But I told him as long as someone wasn't holding the umbrella for me, I was in the clear. Help, Rules Guy!
Josh Flynn, Biloxi, Ms.

That sounds like the best umbrella work since 'Singin' in the Rain.' Under Rule 14-2a, you can't make a stroke while accepting protection against the elements—e.g., by getting your buddy to hold an umbrella over you while you putt. However, under Decision 14-2/2, you are not prohibited from protecting yourself from the elements, even while making a stroke. Luckily there's nothing in the Rules to stop your buddy from holding your beer while you putt.

DEAR RULES GUY: My father and I spent many hours playing golf together. When he died I kept his favorite club, something called a 'chip-n-run,' with which he worked magic around the greens. I never use the club (I don't have my dad's touch), but I keep it in my bag for the memories. If I declare the club 'out of play' at the start of a round, may I keep it in my bag without violating the 14-club rule?
Carl Beckmann, via e-mail

While I'm personally moved by the story of your father's favorite stick, the Rules are not so understanding. According to Decision 4-4c/1, there is nothing in the Rules that allows a player to declare a club out of play before the round. Therefore, you can't carry the club during the round if you've started out with 14 other clubs. I recommend you keep your rescue wood and mount dad's chipper above the fireplace.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN