Instruction

Ask the Rules Guy: Can you move an obstruction in a lateral hazard?

Ask the Rules Guy

BIRDHOUSE ARREST
Rules Man: My opponent's ball landed inside a lateral hazard but on dry land. A large birdhouse outside the hazard line was in his way, preventing him from going at the pin. He wanted to move the birdhouse, but I said it had to stay put. Who was right?
-- Jim Verploeg, Oakland, Calif.

Well, that's a rarity in golf: a bad birdie. Jim, you were correct. The birdhouse stays. It's an obstruction, and unless it can be moved easily without delay or damage to the course, it's an immovable one, regardless of whether it stands inside or outside the hazard line.

More From the Web

More Instruction

The most trusted name in sports is now the easiest way to stay informed—no matter where you are. At home, at work, or on the go, we have you covered.
check it out
This Way To…
Our one-touch menu gives you easy access to your favorite writers and sports, special sections, and more.
go deep…
Use this strip to access scores, schedules, or to lean back and enjoy our iconic photos and videos, daily live shows, and more.
then take a scroll…
We have more great content than ever.