Rules Official Provides Explanation for Sergio Garcia's Match Play Concession

Sergio Garcia, Rickie Fowler

Sergio Garcia congratulates Rickie Fowler on the 18th hole of their match at the Accenture Match Play. (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images) Sergio Garcia congratulates Rickie Fowler on the 18th hole of their match at the Accenture Match Play. (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images)



penned a blog post outlining the details give Fowler a 17-footer for par
Sergio went to his ball, saw a number of bees buzzing about and called me over. He explained he had had a very bad experience with bees in the past and wanted to know if he had to play his next shot with the bees flying around him. Fortunately, the rules are not without heart and players are entitled to free relief when confronted with a “dangerous situation”. In fact, Decision 1-4/10 deals with bees specifically and I was able to help Mr. Garcia determine the nearest point that the bees were not an issue and he dropped his ball within 1 club length of that spot, no nearer the hole.

The match then moved onto the seventh hole. Sergio having a 6 foot putt and Rickie having about 17 feet. Rickie had begun his pre-shot routine and was crouched behind his ball when he and Sergio began talking. The next thing the gallery and I saw, was both players picking up their ball markers and walking off the green. It quickly became clear that both Sergio and Rickie had made use of Rule 2-4, which sets, in part, “A player may concede his opponent’s next stroke at any time, provided the opponent’s ball is at rest.” In language most golfers are used to, they had agreed their putts were “good for good”.


For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @si_golf on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.

More From the Web

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN