Arnold Palmer filed a remarkable column for Golf Channel about the people golf lost in 2013
According to Herbert Warren Wind, who covered that Masters for Sports Illustrated
Palmer maintained he was entitled to lift, clean and place his ball without penalty under a local rule addressing embedded balls that week. The rules official told Palmer he had to play the embedded ball. What Palmer did was play the embedded ball first -- he made a double -- then played second ball -- and made par. After Augusta officials -- including Bobby Jones -- talked to Palmer and Venturi, Palmer's official score on the hole was a '3' and he beat Venturi by one. However, the ruling didn't sit well with Venturi, who thought Palmer had to notify him that Palmer was playing a second ball. Here's Palmer on the ruling, 55 year later:
For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @si_golf on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.That incident affected our relationship. We both wrote about it in subsequent books, each of us insisting that we were right. I think the whole episode says more about the confusion built into the Rules of Golf than it does about me or Ken. I regret that the incident affected our relationship. Ken was a remarkable human being, and a warm and true friend to thousands of people in and out of the game.