Cameron Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship after reporting rules violation

Cameron Tringale plays the British Open at Royal Liverpool last month.
Warren Little/R&A/Getty Images
Cameron Tringale plays the British Open at Royal Liverpool last month.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) -- Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.

Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.

Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.

Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.

Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.

Forecast
PGA Tour News
Trips
Travel & Courses
Lessons
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews