Three South Korean players are on this year's Presidents Cup team: K.J. Choi (pictured), K. T. Kim and 2009 PGA Champion Y.E. Yang.
Andrew Brownbill/AP
Wednesday, November 16, 2011

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) - South Korea will become the first Asian country to host the Presidents Cup in 2015.

U.S. PGA Tour commissioner Tim Finchem said Wednesday at this year's event that an as-yet undecided Korean club will host the biennial tournament between the United States and an International team of golfers representing non-European countries.

Finchem said the PGA Tour has "a number of options'' for a host club but will not announce the specific venue until the first half of next year. Three South Korean players are on this year's Presidents Cup team at Royal Melbourne - K.J. Choi, K. T. Kim and Y.E. Yang.

"I am very honored, very delighted ... it is a positive step for the development of the game in Korea,'' Choi said through an interpreter. "K.T., Y.E and I will try to keep up our 'A' game up to 2015.''

Yang said he was pleased to see such a`festival of golf'' coming to his home country.

"I feel very proud that I picked up golf as a living,'' he said. "I have no doubt this will improve the golf culture and golf market in Korea.''

Under the rotation system, the U.S. will host the 2013 Presidents Cup at Muirfield Village in Dublin, Ohio.

South Korea becomes only the fourth non-American country to host the Presidents Cup since its inception in 1994. Royal Melbourne was also host in 1998, South Africa was host in 2003 and Canada's Royal Montreal in 2007.

You May Like