From The Web

Rory McIlroy wins U.S. golf writers' Player of the Year award

Rory McIlroy, Stacy Lewis, Roger Chapman
Lewis, Scott Halleran/Getty Images; McIlroy, Andrew Redington/Getty Images; Chapman, Phil Inglis/Getty Images
Stacy Lewis, Rory McIlroy and Roger Chapman were voted 2012 GWAA Players of the Year.

HOUSTON (AP) -- Rory McIlroy is the near unanimous choice as the best male player by the Golf Writers Association of America.

McIlroy received 190 out of the 194 votes cast by GWAA members. Three votes went to FedEx Cup champion Brandt Snedeker, and the other went to Tiger Woods. McIlroy previously won player of the year awards from the PGA Tour, European Tour, PGA of America and British-based Association of Golf Writers.

The GWAA said Wednesday that Stacy Lewis was voted best female player with 79 percent of the vote, while double major winner Roger Chapman won the senior player award with 60 percent of the vote.

This is the fourth time in the last five years that the GWAA award has gone to a European player.

PGA Tour News
Travel & Courses
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews