Garcia cleared of breach of rules in Abu Dhabi

Sergio Garcia
Scott Halleran/Getty Images
Sergio Garcia hits a shot from the rough on the 10th hole during the second round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship.

ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates (AP) --
Sergio Garcia has been questioned about a breach of rules at the Abu Dhabi Championship, and was then cleared of any wrongdoing.

Garcia arrived at the National Course on Friday morning and was met by European Tour chief referee John Paramor, who led the Spaniard to a TV compound to review video footage from Thursday.

Garcia marked his ball on what was the ninth hole of his round, but then reached forward with his putter to tap down something on the green. The Spaniard said he was flattening a pitch mark, which is a legal action, and Paramor accepted Garcia's explanation after visiting the green on Friday.

The European Tour says "John Paramor is satisfied with Sergio's version of the matter and that is the end of the issue."
PHOTO GALLERY: HSBC Abu Dhabi Championships
PHOTO GALLERY: Famous rules mishaps
Here is a closer look at the incident from GolfCentralDaily's YouTube channel:
 

Forecast
PGA Tour News
Trips
Travel & Courses
Lessons
Tips & Videos
The Shop
Equipment News & Reviews