Simon Dyson birdied four of the last seven holes to clinch his second title of the year.
Paul Vreeker/Reuters
Sunday, September 11, 2011

HILVERSUM, Netherlands (AP) — England's Simon Dyson won the KLM Open for the third time in six years, shooting a 4-under 66 on Sunday for a one-stroke victory over countryman David Lynn.

Dyson, two shots behind leaders Gary Orr and James Kingston entering the round, birdied four of the last seven holes to finish at 12-under 268. Lynn closed with a 68.

Dyson joined Seve Ballesteros and Bernhard Langer as three-time winners in the national champioship.

"It's something special, a dream come true really," said Dyson, who also won in 2006 and '09. "To win any title once is tough, but to win it three times is a fantastic feeling."

U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy (67) was third at 10 under.

Dyson also won the Irish Open in July. He has six career European Tour victories.

You May Like