Andy Dillard is a 55-year-old salesman in the oil industry, bouncing between offices and oil rigs all day long. Back in 1992, he was a broke professional golfer setting a likely-unbreakable record in the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach.
The Dave Pelz you see in 2017 isn't all too different from the one you would have seen at Indiana University in 1957. However, his ascension to coaching Phil Mickelson begins in the early 1960s at NASA.
Sports Illustrated's Alan Shipnuck sat down with five-time major winner Phil Mickelson ahead of the CareerBuilder Challenge. Lefty dishes on Tiger Woods, the Ryder Cup, those famed money matches and more.
6/28: On this episode of GOLF Today, we visit a unique education-based golf academy in New York City. We also preview the U.S. Senior Open, chat with golf-mad actor Chris O’Donnell, and help you find the right distance-measuring device for your game.
A unique education-based golf academy in Harlem, N.Y., provides youth from varying backgrounds a place to study and grow, both personally and professionally, while simultaneously introducing them to golf.
The USGA's Thomas Pagel describes a rules scenario in which Arnold Palmer picked up Jack Nicklaus' ball to concede the 1962 U.S. Open. What's the penalty for the King's gentlemanly act? You make the call.
6/8: On this episode, we head to Wisconsin to preview the 2017 U.S. Open at Erin Hills. We visit the course, catch up with two-time U.S. Open champ Andy North, try our hand at trivia, and revisit the rules controversy from 2016.
The USGA's Thomas Pagel joins Ryan Asselta to talk about the introduction of a local rule that eliminates the penalty when a ball moves accidentally on a putting green, and explains the decision concerning Dustin Johnson at the 2016 U.S. Open.